top of page

Appa Sculpture

Hey all you dragons out there!! So...I haven't posted for a while. I am deeply sorry, but I've been busy and on a bit of a creative slump. But good news! I am now out of it and once more doing the projects I love!

Recently a good friend of mine introduced me to the cutest anime show called Avatar: The Last Airbender. In this show is a darling 6-legged flying bison named Appa.

Appa is just so adorable and lovable and I knew that he would be my next craft project. So I got out my sculpey and got to work.

You will need:

Tinfoil

Plain white Sculpey clay

Acrylic Paint

Possibly some spackle

Step 1: Make the body. Take the tinfoil and create two balls. One big for the body and one medium for the head.

Step 2: Cover the tinfoil in a thin layer of clay.

Step 3: Make details. Attach the head to the body to make a neck and make sure that it stays attached. Make 6 marshmallow shaped bits for the legs and a paddle shape for the tail. Make a nose, mustache shape for the mouth, and two horns and eyes. If you need to look at a reference on Pinterest.

Step 4: Bake. I needed to bake mine for about an hour. he only issue I had was the neck. The head did fall off in the oven, so I had to improvise.

Step 4 and 1/2: If needed, glue the head back on and use spackle to cover up the crack.

Step 5: Paint! This was the fun part. Appa's fur is a cream color with a brown face and design on the fur. He has an arrow on his head and a stripe for every leg.

SO CUTE!!! I had so much fun making him and although he didn't turn out perfect, he is still darling. If you liked this type of project, let me know! See y'all next time!

Fangs and Fire,

Crafty Dragon

bottom of page